Help me with my keto numbers

(Tr Iz) #1

I have been doing keto for roughly 4 months and i have lost 48 lbs so far, however i can’t keep myself in keto. The 2nd day in i had a 1.6 and have done all i can to keep a .3 since. I faithfully keep under 20 carbs a day i dont understand what im doing wrong. I just keep thinking if i could hit the optimum numbers i would lose more. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

You’re not doing anything wrong other than caring about crap that doesn’t matter. If you’re eating 20g (or near it) and you’re not dying than you’re in ketosis. The number on the meter is meaningless, it doesn’t correlate with fat loss so stop wasting money on the strips. There is no such thing as an optimum number.

(Joey) #3

@tr_iz Faithfully keeping your (net) carb intake to 20’ish grams/daily and losing so much weight in just a few months strongly suggests your body is responding beautifully to your adoption of keto. Congratulations, and welcome to the forum!

I’m inclined to agree (in spirit) with @lfod14 but I can understand why those ketone figures are important to you at this stage (…they were to most of us, including me early on in adopting a keto WOE).

In all likelihood, as you continue to progress in turning your health around as you are, you’ll probably reach a point where you’ll stop testing for ketones entirely (if not regularly) since in the long run those numbers don’t really matter much at all. But until then, please elaborate a bit…

How are you testing? Breath, urine, blood meter? What time of day do you test? Are you also testing glucose, or just ketones? Are you tracking all your macros as carefully as just carbs?

Answers to these might help us give you some additional info and context so you can navigate through all the changes you’re experiencing.

Meanwhile, keep up the great work! :vulcan_salute:

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4