Have a question about "Starvation mode"

(Chris) #1

Hello, Im brand new to this diet and lifestyle. I started June 1st of this year. I have not really had a problem with going to carbs at all (never thought I would be able to say that), but I fell my calorie intake is low. I have the app to track it, and I always read “dont count calories” but I just dont know if im doing it right. I put a tbsp of coconut oil in my coffee every morning, I have been skipping breakfast, Eat lunch which varies from what I make but usually around 900 calories, 4 carbs, 20 protein, 60ish fat. But im not hungry other then that, I mean I could eat but dont really feel hungry so I dont, and I skip dinner usually, but not always. I need to lose about 60 pounds, but feel like maybe im not eating enough but like I stated (and read) if your not hungry then dont eat, so I dont. Anyone else ever felt like this?

(Alec) #2

Chris
Could you give us an idea of what you are eating for lunch. It certainly sounds like you are undereating. But it is always a conundrum if you are not hungry. We need to find out why.
Cheers
Alec

(Chris) #3

Thanks for getting back to me. Well, Today for instance I had two eggs, cooked in olive oil, small sliced tomato, 3 sausage links, and a strip of bacon, with a whole small avocado. It was going to be my breakfast BUT I had a late chicken salad last night, and with the coconut oil in my coffee this morning it really does not make me hungry. I also have Apple cider vinegar in water in the morning, and take a multi along with garlic, turmeric and fish oil pill.

(Alec) #4

Chris
OK, so this is definitely not enough food. But my advice right now is that you are only just starting, so you should stick to the rules and see how it goes over a 4-6 week stretch. The basic rules/guidelines: eat max 20g of net carbs, 0.8-1g protein per kg of LBM, and then eat fat to satiety (meaning that if you aren’t hungry, just don’t eat).