Gained 3 pounds after a 24 hour fast, how?

(Susan) #1

I have been doing Keto for a few months, and have lost 33 pounds so far. I did a fast yesterday that was a bit over 24 hours, then I ate a Keto supper of sauteed veggies in extra virgin olive oil, 2 ounces of boneless, skinless chicken and water. I only drank more water and some plain peppermint tea in the evening, no food. I woke up this morning, and weighed myself, and gained 3 pounds, and cannot figure out how, as my supper was like 400 cals max… so anyone know how?

You didn’t gain fat, so the calories are not relevant- it’s just the weight of the food itself and the water.
Some weight regain after a fast is normal and to be expected!

(John) #3

Or your scale is not precise. Mine can vary a few pounds just by exactly where I stand on it, how I shift my weight, where it is on the floor.

(Susan) #4

Okay, thank you both for responding, I just cried when I saw the increase because I am trying so hard to lose the weight. I am down 33 pounds, but still have about 100 to go… so some days I feel really discouraged.

Thank you both =)

(George) #5

I never weigh myself after eating a meal post-fast. I don’t want to see a discouraging number lol. At minimum I’ll do a 36 to 48 hour fast, but weigh myself the morning before I plan to break fast. It’s more than likely just water weight that will come off pretty soon.

(Susan) #6

Okay, thanks =) I ate the meal last night supper time, and weighed myself this morning though, so was 14 hours after I ate. I will not be going back on the scale for a few days now though, as it makes me afraid to eat if I see any gain, which is not good either! Thank you. I just go through feeling that I am doing really good some days, then looking in the mirror and feeling horrible and fat at other times. I will be really proud of myself when I can lose the other 100 and feel healthy and be able to run around with my grandchildren =).

(John) #7