Gabe's - "eat more fat newbies" post and videos - Epiphany moment for me

(Art ) #1

So I am a total newbie to this and am having some success but not as much as I want. Gabe’s post and the two ‘you tube’ videos near the top of that thread had the same effect as the ‘stop eating sugar and carbs’ videos I watched 2 months ago did. Those videos had me changing my diet and reversing my Type II in less than 2 weeks.

The number 1 point - this is only about those wanting to lose fat. Not for those near or at their desired weight goal.

Here’s the reality as far as I can tell - when you first start Keto - you go in thinking “I have carte blanche to eat all of the bacon (nuts, cheese, salad dressing, etc) I want”.

This chart really drives the point home but Phinney is way too generous IMHO in the carbs @ 10%.

I don’t know what knocks me in or out of ketosis but I do know (at least for me) that once on this diet the slightest amount of sugar would skyrocket my BS in a way that entire plates of pasta and huge bowls of ice cream never did when I was type II. A few raisins, 1 bite of a banana and bam! 300+ readings. I learned that early on. Don’t cheat. You might as well tie your hands behind your back and stab golf pencils into your eyes by repeatedly slamming your face into the concrete.

Like most I started out eating a shed load of bacon and stopped trimming the fat off of steaks or eating chicken with the skin. I roasted 2 ducks and ate all of the skin from both before harvesting the meat for freezing. I ate whole avocados, small bowls of nuts and had frustrations because I wasn’t seeing the weight come off fast enough. “Of course not dummy” I said to myself… “if you really want to lose 20lbs of ugly unwanted fat you should cut off your head.”

Turns out the metabolic equation doesn’t magically change just because you’re on keto. Duh.