Falling out of Keto for no reason

(Jodi) #1

Hi, I am still a newbie. Started at the beginning of October with the goal of losing 15 lbs. I am not overweight just wanted to clean up the excess and be healthy. I have been fairly strict, tracking macros and eating under 20 grams of carbs per day except for one night I drank too much wine and regretted it deeply as I was puking my guts out the next morning. I just got Keto urine sticks this past week and mid week I was at moderate (around a 4) for ketones and now without going off diet at all I only have trace amounts. Just wondering if anyone knows why my body would be kicked out of ketosis. I have lost 10 lbs so far but can’t seem to get past that. Weight goes up and down between 2-4 lbs.

You haven’t fallen out of ketosis. The urine strips are affected by how much water you have drank during the day, and more importantly, how many ketones you are using (urine is what your body is getting rid of).
If you want to continue to use the strips, take anything from “trace” up as a sign you’re on the right track, and if it says “none” then you’ve probably been kicked out.

Most of the people on this forum will tell you to throw them out because they’re inaccurate and not super helpful, but I did use them in the beginning as a rough guide. Hope that helps.

(Jodi) #3

Thank you! I appreciate the advice!

As far as feeling like your weight loss has slowed, 10lbs is plenty in a month and you want to make sure you’re well fat adapted before you start getting more aggressive. Weight loss happens in spurts.
If you’re having no issues with hunger, you could start shortening your eating window by doing things like intermittent fasting from 8pm to 2pm and having 2 meals a day.
Just research lots and you’ll figure it out- there are so many resources available between this forum, the podcasts, and books. Good luck!

(Kimberly) #5