Carnivore tips anyone?

carnivore

(Gabe “No Dogma, Only Science Please!” ) #1

On doctor’s orders, I must spend the next 14 days on 2 meals/day of pure carnivore (meaning not even fats except animal fats) and then slowly transition to a low lectin diet to see if this helps me. I am even more limited because I cannot use any animal fats to cook right now, so unfortunately steaks on the cast iron pan are out until I can use butter or oil again.

Current diet is 2-3 lattes a day (yes I’ve titrated down so I won’t have withdrawals!), if I have a meal before dinner it’d be a brunchy type of eggs/avo/hollandaise/cheese/meat combo, otherwise I might just snack on cheese until dinner which is generally some combo of meat and non-starchy veg. Late night snacks might include dark choc, low carb ice cream. I’m probably forgetting something but whatever.

2 meals per day of just meat/fish/chicken is fine by me, though it might get a little boring since I can only really add salt. But I’m a newbie at carnivore, never done it before. Anything unforeseen you can warn me about? Any tips? I’m all ears.

(Polly) #2

Hi. Just want to wish you all the best with your carnivore transition.

(If you don’t mind me asking)Why are you unable to cook with animal fats at the moment?

My inclination would be to choose fatty lamb chops and fattier cuts of steak as well as canned oily fish in brine or spring water. If there is some issue for you with fat content generally then this suggestion won’t help you.

Also steak seared on both sides on a smoking hot griddle pan does not need to be finished with butter (although it is nice that way). It could just be rested for 10 to 20 minutes before tucking in.