Can't lose gained weight plus menopause

(Nicola Blair) #1

I’ve been doing keto for approx 3 years. The weight was slow to go and I adjusted calorie intake to try and boost (my husband was giving me the same amount as him and I’m a lot smaller and less active !!!) the weight loss. I injured my shoulder and back now on longterm pain meds. The weight rocketed back up. I’ve now supposedly entered menopause and on the pill for seriously bad menstrual pain. I do mostly clean keto but add shop bought chicken stock and curry pastes in bone broth. My treat is 85/90% chocolate 5 or 6 times a month. I’ve bought an exercise bike and do an hour a day. The weight will drop slightly then shoot up again i feel that my body has reverted back to pre keto and is sluggish to metabolise. I’m just getting so frustrated. I’ve no intention of stopping keto but don’t know how to drop at least the 5 kg I’ve regained. My goal is 10kg but I’m beginning to think it’s unattainable. My carb limit is 18g but does sometimes hit 22g. Keto is such a natural fit for my preferred food choice but I’ve started craving carb. Sorry for the ramble but I just don’t know how to turn this around.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

If you are taking opioids, the pain medications aren’t helping the fat loss, so perhaps you could cut yourself some slack. If you can manage on NSAID’s alone, you might do better. But in any case, an injury like that is a stressor all by itself, so it’s no wonder that your body wants a cushion against it.

Increasing your energy expenditure without increasing your intake to match is the same as just cutting calories and runs the same risk of triggering the body’s famine reflex. Be sure you are eating enough to make your body feel safe parting with its fat reserves. You might also re-examine your food intake for carb creep, because sometimes manufacturers change the formulas of their food without warning.