Building muscle on keto

(Luke) #1

Hi guys. I’ve studied this subject of building muscle on keto woe for a little while now as I started training about 3 months into the diet. There is plenty of scientific evidence out there now saying you can build muscle eating keto or low carb , but I always find bits and pieces everywhere on social media or on google/tik tok / Facebook , where trainers or athletes are totally dead against not putting the carbs in while training. Can anyone on here say that they have done it or are doing it successfully? I don’t think I’m putting on any lean mass which could be a number of reasons , but just curious. TIA.
P.s. one thing I can vouch for is that it strips fat off ya. :wink:

It’s hard, you’ve gotta keep your protein way up, you’ll run on nearly no muscle glycogen and…it’s hard! Keto plays better with strength rather than hypertropy workouts, but any good program will incorporate both.

Reality is (standard) Keto isn’t great for lifting. I lost a good amount of muscle in the 4yrs I did it that way. TKD and CKD are the preferred methods of Keto for lifting, since it lets us have our cake and eat it too in the gym.

You’ll see tons of people claim that it’s the same after you’re fat adapted… sorry, no. I did strict keto for 4yrs, wasn’t getting anymore adapted! You’ll read that people have almost as much muscle glycogen OK! Whenever I’ve been fair and really tried to dig into it with people about how they were doing things when I was contemplating changing they say how their lifting was great, no issues putting on muscle etc, then getting some more details I’d learn something to the effect of me having more muscle mass than they had total mass so clearly we weren’t on the same page as far as what lifting without carbs was.

Really comes down to your goals, I like to be strong, I like to look strong. Those who lift weights technically but are just “exercising”, that’s great, but not what I’m doing, I’m training for gains.