Bloody test results - HbA1c still increasing!

Hi All,

I have been doing vegetarian LCHF for about 8 months. I am feeling great in terms of better sleep , lower inflammation , increased focus etc. However , my HbA1C has increased in my most recent blood test ! Also my HDL and LDL values are so high that they are out of scale !

My typical diet is :
Breakfast : Scrambled eggs with mushroom & tomato.
Lunch : 2 Boiled eggs with veggie soup.
Snacks : Nuts and dark choc ( 2 to 4 pieces of 90%), cheese slices.
Dinner : Veggie Burger with cheese, and Greek yoghurt
The last 2 results of my blood test are

Can the experienced guys pl advise me on how to lower my HbA1C and what to do about high Cholesterol levels ?

(Full Metal KETO AF) #2

:bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::bacon::sunglasses:

How many carbs are you eating each day?

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #4

Former vegetarian here. Would you be willing to add fish or poultry to your diet?

You might try less veg based things and replacing it with fattier things (heavy whipping cream, more cheese, oils, avocado, etc.)

(kirstin) #5

Look at your carb and fat count. Vegetarian food is often high in carbs.

(Jeanne Wagner) #6

Are you tracking your carbs? It does really help. I had been great for many months, so I stopped tracking macros feeling that ā€˜I had the hang of it now.ā€™ I thought I had been below or at 20 carbs/day, when in fact I was more like 40. Carb creep is real.

Thanks everyone and @EyesWideOpen . I am not tracking carbs but I do check regularly and ensure that I am in ketosis. Compared to my pre-lchf days where my diet was mostly rice, bread ,pasta, lentils etc, I thought my current diet is a big improvement and I was expecting atleast a small reduction in HBA1C.

Also not sure whats happening with my HDL and LDL as they are both out of scale. Perhaps @PaulL can explain ? Thanks in advance !

(Bob M) #8