A true story about large numbers, no keto content but maybe interesting

Like large numbers? card tricks? Stories about me in college?

When I was a physics student at Georgia Tech, my quantum mechanics professor (the late Dr. Helmut Biritz) would do something on tests that he actually thought was helpful. Some of us disagreed. I recall one question. “Calculate the angular momentum of the earth (no credit if off by more than 10^2). OK, we could get credit as long as our answers weren’t off by more than a factor of 100! I can guess a lot of things within a factor of 100, but the earth’s angular momentum isn’t one of them. He was the man that pointed out to me in 1974 that a year was approximately π*10^7 seconds. From this I concluded that π seconds was a nanocentury. The first time I had coined a unit of measure[1].

I did magic tricks as a student. Professor Biritz noted that when I had chosen a specific card out of the deck that the probability was 1/52nd even if I wasn’t using any sort of trick. He then proposed to do a trick for us no one had ever done or could ever repeat. He shuffled the deck about five times and claimed that no one had ever arranged the cards in that order and that if every human shuffled cards constantly for the next thousand years that no one could accidentally achieve the same order.

We were intrigued and went to our chalkboard. We quickly realized that this is the same problem as someone guessing all 52 cards in a random deck in order. So, if we start with a random deck, the odds of ‘guessing’ the first card are 1/52 or about 1.923%. The odds of then guessing the next one is 1/51. The combined odds of guessing them both is (1/52)(1/51) or one chance in 2652. Five cards in a row is (1/52)(1/51)(1/50)(1/49)*(1/48) or one chance in 311,875,200. This is hard to do but it is only twice as hard as winning the POWERBALL lottery.