5 days in, already weight loss

newbies

(Miro) #1

I have been on a basic keto with 30g of carbs.
I am not trying to lose weight, just trying to ketone for a cancer issue and it seems to take my mind off things.
I have a ketone blood meter and I am not in ketosis. I’m reading only a 0.3 (that is ok). I don’t think some of my meds will let me get into keto for a while.

But I have weight loss.
About 10 lbs. 190lbs to 180lbs.
(86kg to 80kg)

Is that normal in the start?

I am using the app Carb Meter to help track foods and nutrition and learn the ropes.
It has me set to 30 net carbs
200g of fat
150 protein a day.

5% 25% 70%. (Carb, fat, protein)

It calculated it after I put in I was 6 feet and 190 lbs.

Does that calc seem right? How do I check easy? Maybe some numbers need to be raised?

I eat and I feel full. I can eat twice a day if needed but some of my meds need to be eaten with food so I do split meals over breakfast lunch and supper.

Any comments appreciated.

Ty.
-Total newb

(Carl Keller) #2

Hello Miro.

Yes it’s fairly normal to experience a noticeable weight loss when you first start LCHF. If we keep our carb totals low enough, our body’s reserves of glycogen, which are stored in our liver and muscles, becomes depleted and we lose a fair amount of water weight. You can gain all of this weight back rather quickly by loading up on carby foods.

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #3

Many but not all people lose a good amount of weight the first week, but it is mostly water. I know weight loss isn’t your goal, but do you have some to lose? If not you might want to up your fat intake a little bit.

I do come to keto from a weight loss angle, so if anyone has better advice than I do for keto for cancer, please listen to them rather than me. Intermittent fasting is by no means required, so don’t worry that you need to eat to take your meds.

Here is a handy guide for new folks:

Keto for beginners

And welcome to the forum!

(Miro) #4