22% of Residents of EU - 15 or older - show higher than normal blood pressure

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #1

In 2017, high blood pressure was responsible for 10.4 million deaths worldwide, considerably more than other risk factors like smoking, high blood sugar or obesity.

(Robin) #2

I’m kinda surprised it’s not more. I have started paying more attention to how much obesity I see around me…. My old tribe. And if that is the result of our culture’s addiction to crap food, it makes sense.
(I need to remind myself not to be too self-righteous about this. I was part of that crowd a heck of a lot longer than I’ve been keto. And I wasn’t ignorant, just addicted.)

(Polly) #3

Thank you for the link @amwassil

It says that 22% of the people in the EU have high blood pressure but doesn’t share what it regards as high.

When I studied physiology in the 1970s normal blood pressure was 140:90 and that is now regarded as high with 120:70 being regarded as the desirable maximum. We also learnt that we could expect our BP to increase as we aged and our arteries became less elastic.

This change in the definition of high blood pressure enables big pharma to medicalise more people. I have a friend in her sixties who has recently lost 3 stone and her doctor won’t stop the BP medication until her readings get down to 120:70 and stay there. She is so anxious when she goes to the surgery that her BP spikes and the medication keeps being prescribed.

(Jane) #4

It is still her choice. My husband stopped taking his blood pressure medication after a year on keto. His is always higher than mine and not 120/70 but not sky high so his doctor is ok with that.

(Polly) #5

I agree. In her shoes I would not be taking the three medications all of which have their own lovely side effects, but we cannot decide for others so I just listen whilst she lists her discomforts and empathise because she has heard my opinion and discounted it.