18 months keto and still high cholesterol

(Sonia) #1

Hi keto family,

I’ve been doing keto for 18 months now. Maintaining my 90 pound weight loss. 5’6 123 pounds, 36 years old. Never had high cholesterol before keto.

6 months into my journey I got bloodwork done and my cholesterol was high. Not to worry because I was new into the diet plus I had lost a lot of weight.

Two weeks ago I did another round of bloodwork. Been maintaining for a few months now.

So my total chol is 263. Should be under 200. Good chol is 65 which is fine.

LDL is 171 which should be under 130.

I don’t eat beef. I eat lamb maybe twice a month. Bacon maybe once a week. Sausage twice a week.

I’m a little lost. How am I gonna do low fat on keto? She wants me to change my diet for 8 weeks and then come back. I’m really upset because I absolutely love keto. And yes I can modify it but I feel like I’ll be hungry.

Any advice or suggestions?

(Susan) #2

Switch doctors to a Keto friendly one =).

(traci simpson) #3

Watch

(Bob M) #4

You’ve lost 90 pounds. I assume you feel great. Do you really think your “cholesterol” is trying to kill you?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #5

(Bob M) #6

OK, if you are really freaked out about this, there are number of things you can do. One is to get a better lipid test (“cholesterol” is carried by lipids, and that’s what these tests actually measure). This will break down the lipids ever further, into those that are associated with higher CHD and those that are not. For instance, the one I get does this complexly (lists all the various subfractions), but also gives a “Pattern”. Patter B is bad, Pattern A is good. I started, about 6 years ago, in Pattern B, but I’ve in Pattern A for a long time now.