Doing Keto solely to lose weight? Read this

(Mon) #1

I was a starry eyed newbie with huge expectations once. I get it. You’re excited. Great swathes of weight are about to fall off you with relative ease. You’ll be buying new clothes every month you’re shrinking so fast. Friends and family will be in awe of your dramatic rapid weight loss.

Only- none of that is likely to be true. Sorry pumpkins :frowning:

Keto is not a magic bullet. Keto is not a diet. Keto is a way of eating which enables your body to undo years of metabolic damage, abuse from calorie restricted diets, and metabolic disregulation. Keto is primarily about health and healing.

Yes- it is true that the weight will come off. But! It will do it when it wants to. For some people it happens fast (but I’m sorry to say they are unicorns :unicorn:!).

For most of us it’s a slow process with stalls and gains as well as losses. It is a journey, a journey which requires research, experimentation, trial and error, and overcoming your fear of fat.

You’ll probably lose an exciting amount of weight during your first week or two of keto. That is your body depleting its glycogen stores- ie water weight. Next up- you’ll most likely ‘stall’ (awesomely named PISS- Post Induction Stage Stall). You may very well not see any loss on the scales and you’re going to want to freak out because you think you’re doing it wrong, or Keto doesn’t work.

Wrong! Going Keto is a big deal for your body. It’s likely going to freak out a bit, after all you’ve taken away its glucose and it’s wondering where the energy is going to come from (if you’re suffering from the keto flu type the word ‘electrolytes’ into the search bar- research it and follow it, you’ll be glad you did).

Then, it’s going to start healing. Rebuilding muscle. Strengthening bone. Bolstering your immune system. Making you HEALTHIER. It’s doing all that while your scales aren’t budging.